Support Groups for Common Terminal Illnesses

Illness and shorter than normal life expectancies are terrible things. They can also cause a large/unexpected increases in life insurance rates. Below is a list of countless support groups, covering a diverse background of illnesses. If you find this list useful, please mention it on your site. If you have recommendations for important additions, please let us know.

Illness Type

Support Group

Website

General
R.A. Bloch Cancer Foundation http://blochcancer.org/
American Cancer Society http://www.cancer.org/
CureSearch for Children’s Cancer http://www.nccf.org/
OncoChat http://www.oncochat.org/
American Childhood Care Organization (ACCO) http://www.americanchildhoodcancer.org
Camp Kesem http://www.campkesem.org
Cancer and Careers – For Working Women with Cancer http://www.cancerandcareers.org
CancerCare http://www.cancercare.org
Cancer Hope Network http://www.cancerhopenetwork.org
Cancer Information and Counseling LineĀ  (CICL) http://www.amc.org
Cleaning for a Reason Foundation http://www.cleaningforareason.org
Hope Lodge http://www.cancer.org/docroot/subsite/hopelodge/index.asp
Lance Armstrong Foundation (LAF) http://www.livestrong.org
Look Good…Feel Better (LGFB) http://www.lookgoodfeelbetter.org/
Cancer 411.org http://www.cancer411.org
Cancer Support Community – The Wellness Community http://www.gildasclub.org
ACOR.org (Association of Cancer Online Resources) http://www.acor.org
Cancer Community Center http://www.cancercommunitycenter.org/
Hopewell Cancer Support http://www.hopewellcancersupport.org/
The Patrick Dempsey Center for Cancer Hope & Healing http://www.dempseycenter.org/
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute http://www.dana-farber.org/
Grief Haven https://www.griefhaven.org/
ASK – Assoc. for the Support of Children with Cancer http://www.askweb.org/
Chase Pullan Foundation http://www.chasepullanfoundation.org/
Cancer Survivors Online http://www.cancersurvivors.org/
Corporate Angel Network http://www.corpangelnetwork.org/
Colorado Cancer Foundation http://co-cancer-foundation.org/
Zac’s Legacy Foundation http://www.zacslegacyfoundation.org/
21st Century Care http://www.21stcenturycare.org/
Candlelighters – American Childhood Cancer Foundation http://www.candlelighters.org/
National Cancer Institute, Cancer Information Service http://www.nci.nih.gov
Leukemia, Lymphoma & Multiple Myeloma
The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society http://www.leukemia.org/hm_lls
Breast (or other Gynecological Cancers)
Breast Cancer Support http://www.bcsupport.org/
Breast Cancer Support Services http://www.breastcancersupport.org/
Breast Friends http://www.breastfriends.com/
Chairwomen of Gainesville http://www.mediaimage.net/chairwomen/cause.asp
Breast Cancer Action http://www.bcaction.org/
National Breast Cancer Foundation Inc. http://www.nationalbreastcancer.org/
Susan G. Komen for the Cure http://ww5.komen.org/
Fertile Hope http://www.fertilehope.org
National Cervical Cancer Coalition http://www.nccc-online.org/
Network of Strength http://www.networkofstrength.org/
Eyes on the Prize.org – Support and Information for Gynecologic Cancer http://www.eyesontheprize.org/
WCRC – Women’s Resource Center of Oakland, CA http://www.wcrc.org
The East Bay Cancer Support Group http://www.ebcancersupport.org
The Wellness Community of San Francisco & the East Bay http://www.twceastbay.org
Alta Bates Cancer Center http://www.abccc.com
Bay Area Tumor Institute http://www.bati.org
Prostate
Us TOO International http://www.ustoo.com/
Prostate Cancer Foundation – CapCure http://www.pcf.org/site/c.leJRIROrEpH/b.5699537/k.BEF4/Home.htm
Hepatitis B
American Liver Foundation http://www.liverfoundation.org/
Hepatitis Foundation International http://www.hepfi.org/
HepTrec http://www.heptrec.org/
Hepatitis B Information and Support List http://www.hblist.org/
PKIDs Online (Parents of Kids with Infectious Diseases) http://www.pkids.org/vc_listservs.php
Daily Strength http://www.dailystrength.org/c/Hepatitis-B/support-group
Hepatitis B Foundation http://www.hepb.org/
Pancreatic Cancer
The Wellness Community http://www.thewellnesscommunity.org
The Pancreatic Cancer Support & Information eCommunity http://listserv.acor.org/archives/pancreas-onc.html
Pancreatic Cancer Action Network http://www.pancan.org
Lung Cancer
LungCancer.org http://www.lungcancer.org
Lung Cancer Alliance http://www.lungcanceralliance.org/
Lung-Onc http://listserv.acor.org/SCRIPTS/WA-ACOR.EXE?A0=LUNG-ONC